2021 MSCUA Annual Meeting & Convention Review


Share your credit union’s news! Use the “more” option within a news item for page links that can be shared on social media or with local media outlets.

(08/22/21) — The membership of the Mississippi Credit Union Association (MSCUA) has elected its board of directors. The twelve-member MSCUA Board represents the association’s sixty-nine member credit unions in Mississippi that provide financial services to more than 680,000 consumers.

Four MSCUA directors were re-elected to a three-year term:

  • Rebecca Cooper, 1st Mississippi FCU (Meridian, MS) (more)
  • John Harmond, CenturyFirst FCU (Hattiesburg, MS) (more)
  • Alison Lynd, Southern Coastal FCU (Biloxi, MS) (more)
  • Katie Nelson, Eagle Express FCU (Jackson, MS) (more)

Elected to a fill an unexpired two-year term:

  • Tommy Leonard, Navigator CU (Pascagoula, MS) (more)

The MSCUA Board of Directors are:

  • Chairman Chris Hammond, Sunbelt FCU (Laurel, MS)
  • Vice-Chairman Sheila Bridges, CommFirst FCU (Jackson, MS)
  • Treasurer Katie Nelson, Eagle Express FCU (Jackson, MS)
  • Past Chairman James B. Smith, Jr., Singing River FCU (Moss Point, MS)
  • Betty Barrett, Magnolia FCU (Jackson, MS)
  • Rebecca Cooper, 1st Mississippi FCU (Meridian, MS)
  • John Gibbons, Triangle FCU (Columbus, MS)
  • John Harmond, CenturyFirst FCU (Hattiesburg, MS)
  • Tommy Leonard, Navigator CU (Pascagoula, MS)
  • Alison Lynd, Southern Coastal FCU (Biloxi, MS)
  • Michael Mathews, Mutual CU (Vicksburg, MS)
  • Brig Gen Richard Moss (Retired), Keesler FCU (Biloxi, MS)

08/22/21 – Four Mississippi credit union leaders were recently inducted into the Mississippi Credit Union Hall of Fame. Induction into the Mississippi Credit Union Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon an individual within our state. Learn more about each inductee using the “more” link.

  • Gary Fairley, Jackson Area FCU (more)
  • Abraham Green, Vickswood CU (more)
  • Robert Harry, Navigator CU (more)
  • Patricia McDaniel, MUW Employees’ FCU (more)

The Mississippi Credit Union Hall of Fame was founded in 1994 to recognize deserving individuals who have dedicated a lifetime of service to the credit union movement. In order to be considered for Hall of Fame induction, a person must first be nominated. The nomination form is available at https://mscua.com/collaboration/mississippi/awards/.

08/23/21 — Nineteen Mississippi credit unions were recognized for their efforts to actively promote and advocate on behalf of credit unions and for their efforts to support credit union advocacy initiatives.

Initiatives in the Mississippi Credit Union Advocacy Award Program include support of credit union political action committees, participation in credit union advocacy programs and initiatives, and helping lawmakers understand the unique structure of credit unions and the benefits they provide to their member-owners and community.

Completing 5 of 5 advocacy initiatives and earning a “Magnolia” Advocacy Award were:

  • 1st Mississippi Federal Credit Union (more)
  • CommFirst Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Keesler Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Magnolia Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Meridian Mutual Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Mutual Credit Union (more)
  • Navigator Credit Union (more)
  • Rivertrust Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Singing River Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Sunbelt Federal Credit Union (more)

Completing 3 of 5 advocacy initiatives and earning a “Delta” Advocacy Award were:

  • Eagle Express Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Ferguson Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Gulf Coast Community Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Jackson Area Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Members’ Exchange Credit Union (more)
  • MS DHS Federal Credit Union (more)
  • MUNA Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Statewide Federal Credit Union (more)
  • Triangle Federal Credit Union (more)

Credit union employees at many of the advocacy award winning credit unions were also recognized for their voluntary participation in the Credit Union Legislative Action Council (CULAC) Payroll Deduction Program (PRD), which helps support and defend the credit union movement.

08/23/21 — During the 2021 Mississippi Credit Union Association (MSCUA) Annual Meeting, MSCUA was pleased to recognize our member credit union’s achievements.

  • Community Partners Federal Credit Union was recognized for their 50th Anniversary. (more)
  • Mississippi Federal Credit Union was recognized for being the top fundraiser last year for Credit Unions for Kids, a program through which credit unions support the children’s hospitals in the Children’s Miracle Network. (more)
  • The 2021 members of LEAD, Mississippi’s young credit union professional group, were recognized: Sedric Brinson, Statewide FCU, Chairman; Christian Hartley, Keesler Federal, Chair-Elect; Cavina Wells, Singing River FCU, Vice-President; Elliott (Ella) Adair, CommFirst FCU; Elizabeth Avara, Gulf Trust FCU; Samantha Blackwell, Meridian Mutual FCU; Mitchell Gressett, Keesler Federal; Jerrica Griffin, Keesler Federal; Lawanda Jones, Mutual CU; Heather Mathis, Keesler Federal; Mikael McCullough, Statewide FCU; Jennifer Parker, Mutual CU; Contricka Robey, Keesler Federal; Theresa Singleton, Mississippi FCU; Tyeisha Smith, 1st Mississippi FCU; and Ashley Warren, Members Exchange CU.

08/22/21 — The Mississippi Managers Association, a support and networking group composed of Mississippi credit union CEOs and executives, has announced their officers:

  • Vernon Clevenger, Ferguson FCU, President
  • Darlene Wilkerson, Meridian MS Air National Guard FCU, 1st Vice President
  • Debbie Smith, Meridian Mutual Federal Credit Union, 2nd Vice President
  • Joey Minton, Eagle Express FCU, Secretary/treasurer
  • Melissa Carter, Mutual Credit Union, Member at Large
  • Sharon Howell, Southern Coastal FCU, Member at Large
  • Gary Fairley, Jackson Area FCU, Member at Large

Learn more about becoming a member of the Mississippi Managers Association at https://mscua.com/collaboration/mississippi/ms-managers-association/.